New Orleans, Louisiana – Garden District – Homes

15 Aug

One of my favorite places to visit in order to stroll the streets and to take photographs is in the Historic Garden District of New Orleans.  Let me quantify that statement by saying when the weather is to my liking.  My favorite visiting time is in the fall and through the spring.  The homes here are beautiful and the hard light in summer just washes out the color, so you never capture the beauty seen by your eyes.  My intention is to make posts about some of these individual houses and to discuss their history and significance in more detail. At the moment I have beaucoup of photos of the Garden District and so I am posting some of them without any discussion – in reality they need none.

8 Responses to “New Orleans, Louisiana – Garden District – Homes”

  1. Laurie Wiegler August 15, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    Ahhh! You would have to do this to me a wk after my return to the north, seein’ as how I’m missin’ N’awlins so much.
    I need someone to get in touch with the owner of 1315 First st. Let me know if you will be there. I met him and we talked about my story possibility for a magazine. I could use the contact help …and you could get an assignment possibly!

    • rdvernon August 15, 2010 at 12:41 am #

      Well Laurie you inspired me to look at my photos and to make plans for some blogs – but then I though why don’t I just post some photos for now and get it out of my system.

  2. Laurie Wiegler August 15, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    PS I thought it was possible to get some good shots in the summer…but what do I know.

    • rdvernon August 15, 2010 at 12:44 am #

      It is possible to get good photos in the summer but it is harder. Once the sun is up high in the sky the glare is just very hard to deal with – but you can do it. I am lazy and just like to walk down the street and snap pictures mainly when I am not sweating like all get out!

  3. Kate August 20, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Those are such beautiful photos. Thank you for sharing them!

    • rdvernon August 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

      Thank you very much Kate.

  4. Frances D Boyd September 4, 2010 at 3:27 am #

    A fine series !

    • rdvernon September 7, 2010 at 3:57 am #

      Thanks Franny. Maybe I can learn some more about the homes and take more pictures and publish more information about them.

Leave a Reply

